Guide to EPIK: Apostilled Diploma Guide (USA only)

EPIK_(English_Program_in_Korea)_Logo

Acquiring your apostilled diploma can be another lengthy, but simple, process. Therefore it is a good idea to start this process as soon as you find out you made it to the interview stage.

Note 1: If you will be using a MA diploma as proof for a pay level increase, you need to get that apsotilled as well.

Note 2: You cannot send your CRC to be apostiled with your diplomas!! That must be notarized at the federal level with the Department of State, not the state level with your state’s Secretary of the State.

DISCLAIMER: THIS POST WAS WRITTEN FROM MY EXPERIENCES DURING THE FALL 2015 EPIK INTAKE. FUTURE PROCESSES OR FORMS MAY DIFFER. ALWAYS READ EPIK’S INSTRUCTIONS FIRST AND USE MY INFORMATION AS A SUPPLEMENT ONLY IF IT APPLIES.

1. Acquire your Diploma(s)

This could take a while if you have just graduated or are about to graduate. I suggest contacting your school to see if there is a way to expedite receiving your diploma.

2. Make Copies of the Originals

You do NOT need to send EPIK your original diplomas. Make copies of your originals and use those for this process.

3. Get Copies Notarized

My state’s Secretary of State website said that I needed to attach a statement to my diploma copy (or written directly on it) saying that it was a true copy. This is the format I used:

[Date]

The attached photocopy is a true, correct, and unaltered copy of my original [degree type (i.e. Master of Arts)] diploma from [university or college’s name]  issued to me, [name on diploma].

[Signature]

Check your Secretary of States website and see what they will require.

Take your diploma copy with this statement to get notarized. I also recommend bringing the original with you as well. I don’t think I needed the originals, but it is a good idea just in case!

I got my diploma copies notarized at my bank, it did not cost me anything.  Call your bank and see if they have a notary and if it will cost anything.

Screen Shot 2015-08-05 at 10.39.14 PM

I typed this statement on a separate sheet of paper and stapled it to my diploma. This is one example of a notarized document.

notary 2

I had to get a second notary of one of my diplomas because it went missing. It was notarized by a different person. Here’s another example of what the notarized document will look like.

4. Send to your Secretary of State

If you live in a different state than you went to school, that is OK! Send your notarized diploma to the Secretary of State that you live in.

I’m sure this part of the process is different for each state. I Googled: “[State Name] Diploma Apostille” and the website for the  Secretary of State for my state came up with the instructions. You can also call your Secretary of State office and they will tell you what needs to be done.

I had to send: the application form, a check for $80 ($40 for each diploma), the copies of my diplomas with the notarization, a self-addressed envelope.

5. Receive your Apostilled Diploma(s)

I received my apostilles about a week and a half later; much faster than I had expected. The apostille is to the diploma and statement. My state puts a gold seal on it, others put a stamp.

Thi si a

This is a copy of my diploma apostille. They will staple it to your diploma copy and notarized paper. The seal is gold and raised. This document may differ by state.

Leave a Reply

