The Big Wait


When I started the application process for EPIK in February I knew that if I was accepted, I wanted to restart my blog. The blogs that I wrote during my study abroad at Yonsei in 2010 are something that I really cherish (missing pictures, and all). I look back on those blogs very often and am so happy that I chose to blog as much as I did. Now, here I am 5 years later and I am very close to returning to Korea!

I’ve been putting off restarting my blog for a while because I didn’t want to be presumptuous or jinx my official acceptance. However, I now think that it is an appropriate time to start. Even if things do fall through, I can at least share my application process with future applicants.

I’m currently in what some are calling “The Big Wait” phase. This means that I passed the interview, I submitted my paperwork, and my paperwork was all approved. Now I am waiting to find out my placement (a.k.a. where I will be living and teaching). We were recently told that we wouldn’t be finding out placements until the beginning of July at the earliest. As soon as I find out more information I will update here again. Wherever I do end up, whether it is the area I requested or not, I just can’t wait to start. This has been an 8-year long journey and I’m excited that I’m about to reach my goal.

Before signing off, I’d like to tell you what I have planned for this blog. I hope that this blog will focus on the teaching aspect of being an EPIK teacher. After all, that is the main reason for going to Korea. I have been having a difficult time finding blogs or vlogs that gave a lot of insight into lesson prep, organization, lesson implementation, classroom management, etc., so I hope to fill that gap a little. I do also plan to include blogs about adjusting to life in Korea and whatever city/town I will be living in, as well as any traveling I do. My blogs will contain many pictures (I promise they won’t disappear this time!) and I am hoping to get up the courage to vlog. Please feel free to contact me on twitter, instagram, or e-mail with any questions or suggestions for blogs!

Thank you for reading and I can’t wait to share more with you all soon!

-Natasha

P.S. If you’re a returning reader: Hello again! Thank you so much for sticking with me after such a long hiatus! How do you like the blog’s new look? I wanted to try something new for my new adventure.

P.P.S. If you are a new reader and do happen to read some of my old blogs from 2010, let me apologize! Almost all of the pictures got deleted accidentally, there are countless spelling mistakes because apparently I didn’t re-read anything before I hit “post”, and I sound like a high school child! I’ve grown up a lot since then, so expect my new blogs to be much better and more mature.

One thought on “The Big Wait

Leave a Reply

