Going to Music Shows in Korea

I’ve received a LOT of e-mails from you guys asking me how I got to watch these music shows.  I thought I gave enough information in my blog posts, but I guess not?  In this post I’ll try to give as much information as I can!

M-Wave (click here for website)

M-Wave is a pretty new music show which airs on Arirang TV all over the world.  Since it’s new, not a lot of the REALLY famous people appear on it.  However, there may be one or two well known artists/groups that appear each episode.  You’re probably thinking, “Then what’s the point of going?”  The point is you can get it.  Not a lot of people show up.  So it’ll be pretty easy for you to get in.

DO bring the CD of one of the artists there.  And DO try to stand with other people supporting the same artist (They’ll be noticeable with their color balloons and/or signs).  To know which artists and groups will be there click HERE.

When: Tuesday at 6pm.  First come first serve.  Arrive atleast 30 minutes early.

Where : Konkuk University  in New Millenium Hall.
*There was a few weeks that it was being filmed somewhere else, so before you go just check the website.

How do you get there?: Take subway lines 2 or 7 and go out exit 2.  Walk down the stairs of the exit and walk straight to cross the street.  Walk straight up the road (you’ll be walking the same direction as the subway is overhead).  Go to the second entrance of Konkuk.  Follow the red line on the maps to find the building….
MAP 1 MAP 2

Go to map.naver.com and search  건국대학교 새천년기념관 if you want a better look for yourself.
There are also a few buses that go near the University, follow the link HERE to see the bus list.

Once you are AT the building enter the doors and go immediately to the left. Follow the winding stairs all the way down to the auditorium, just follow the sounds of the talking fan girls.

AFTER the show if you want to try and see any famous people you’ll need to go near the backdoor of the auditorium.  Here’s another map… map

Music Core (click here for website)

In my opinion the easiest show to get in of the 4 popular ones (Music Core, Inkigayo/Popular Song, Music Bank, M-Countdown)

If you plan on going to this show be prepared to be there ALL day!  I recommend getting there as EARLY as possible, at least before 9AM.   Click HERE to see who will be performing (usually isn’t posted until day before).  You MUST bring the LATEST CD of an artist/group that will be there.

When: Saturdays

Where: MBC Dream Center in Ilsan.

How do you get there?:
a) Subway: Get to the orange line 3 and get off at 정발산 Jeongbalsan and go out exit 1.
b) If you’re coming from Yonsei (like lots of my blog readers are) you can take the red 1000 bus from the Yonsei Main Gate bus stop.  Take the bus to 일산동구청 Ilsan-dong-gu cheong.

Follow the red line on the map to get to the Dream Center.  Map

The blue line on the map shows the entrance to the parking garage.  You will see fans standing here waiting to see the singers drive in/out. Sometimes the singers lower the windows and wave.  Please do NOT run after the cars!!!!!  It’s dangerous!

When you get there…: This is the hard part.  You need to find the fan group for the artist/group that you brought the CD for.  I suggest going with a group that’s pretty new.  If you go with groups that have huge fan groups (SNSD, Big Bang, Super Junior, etc.) it’s going to be pretty hard to get in.

Some fan groups don’t let you wait with them if you’re not a fan club member (ex: Big Bang)

Wait in line with the fans and around 12 they should start giving out numbers based if you’re a fan club member or not and how early you got there.  Each fan club has their own way of doing it…so I can’t really tell you a lot.  Sorry.  >.<

If your artist/group is pre-recording you’ll be able to go in early and watch them and maybe one other artist/group pre-record.  Then they will bring you back outside for more waiting.

As for the show recording I’m not 100% sure on how it’s decided who goes in first and who gets the seats…but I always got stuck standing in the back.

TIPS: 1) Bring some food.  You may or may not have a chance to go and get lunch.
2) Wear a hat, you might be waiting outside.  If the weather is bad they’ll let you wait in the lobby. 3) If you fail trying to get in with one fan club, try another but make sure they didn’t know you were trying to get in with another group. Or if all else fails wait until the last group is getting let in and hop on the back of their line,  you’ll probably get in…..maybe?  I never tried.  4) If you completely fail the 1st day….just learn from your mistakes and try next week!! :)

Other shows

I can’t give you anything about the other shows because I don’t know much or anything.  Yes, I went to Inkigayo, but I was on the list so I didn’t need to wait inline outside.  I’m assuming they are all pretty much the same thing.  Go EARLY.  Wait all day.  Pray you get in.

20 responses to “Going to Music Shows in Korea

  1. WOW!! thx so much! this is really helpfull.. how bout other show? mubank, mnet or inki? hehe

  2. hi just asking, do you know how SHINee fan? Is it hard to get in with them? Thank youuu :)

  3. omg that’s crazy O____o
    i’ll never go to one of the music shows.. i wouldn’t be able to stand all of this XD

  4. For M-Wave, if I liked Ukiss, can I still able to go and support the hosts?

  5. What do you mean by fan club member exactly? How can you officially become a fan club member, or is that even possible for foreigners?

    May I ask how you got on the list for Inkigayo? Connections, I’m guessing, hehe.

    • Foreigners can join. The process if different for each company. Like SM only opens up for submissions at certain times during the year. Others are open all year long. You might have to pay for the membership. Sometimes a yearly payment.
      I think the process is pretty complicated which is why I never did it.
      If you want to sign up, go to their official website. ^^

  6. Hi there. I have been in Korea for about a month now and I think I have just this opportunity to go to the M-Wave! I didn’t even know it existed until I came across your blog. Thanks! :D Gonna try Music Core soon, too!

  7. Thanks for the tips, this’ll be really helpful in my attempt to invade at least one of the major broadcasts.
    I was just wondering, is it really complicated to get in if you don’t speak any Korean? I know Koreans are otherwise very friendly, but the fangirls have a horrible reputation, especially when it comes to foreign fans… If I’m a member of the fanclub they shouldn’t be able to just shove me off? Ah scary, I’m wishing to see 2ne1 but I don’t know if that’ll be really difficult, you reckon I should just go with another group?
    Thanks for writing, your blog has been a great help to me! =)

    • Use a lot of hand gestures. We all knew some Korean…so that was helpful for sure. If you don’t have a Korean speaking friend to go with you, someone there is bound to know some English and help you out!

  8. omg!!!
    I don’t know it is hard to watch music show there
    at my country that not that hard
    I’m sure to prepare myself before going to the music show there (korea)…hurmm someday maybe =P (hahaha… have a dream to study)
    anyway thanks for the tips.

  9. how were you put on the list?
    i really want to go to one of the main music shows in the weekend because that is the only time i will have.
    i’m going around christmas and want to experience the music program!! ^^

    • My friend’s family member helped us out. You can get it without your name on the list too…it’s just a little harder. I suggest going to Music Core because it’s bigger, so they can let a lot more people in and you’ll be able to see much more of the show than at Inkigayo.
      Get their early and bring the CD of one of the groups. I suggest going for a rookie group, even if you don’t like them! Going with popular groups such as Super Junior, SHINee, SNSD, and Big Bang is really really difficult!

  10. For example, if SNSD and some random rookie group is performing, would I still be able to see SNSD if I line up for the rookie group?

  11. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be actually something which I think I would never
    understand. It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me.
    I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

